Unstuffed Peppers

I plan my meals out 2 weeks at a time. Last night stuffed peppers were on the menu. I had to take my Mom to an unexpected Doctor appointment so I didn’t have the time required to make traditional stuffed peppers. Instead I decided to make my peppers unstuffed! It was really good so I thought I would share with all of you!

1 lb ground beef

1lb ground turkey

1 cup uncooked quinoa (I used red)

6 peppers (I used red, yellow, and orange)

2 red onions

1 tablespoon minced garlic

2 stacks celery

2 tablespoons butter

1 can diced tomatoes

Seasonings: celery salt, sea salt, italian seasoning, paprika (season to taste) I used a hefty amount of celery salt and paprika.

  1. Cook quinoa according to package directions.
  2. While quinoa is cooking chop peppers, onions, and celery into large pieces.
  3. Melt butter in frying pan. Add peppers, onions, and celery. Fry until just softening. About 10 minutes.
  4. Add meat, garlic, and seasonings to pan with veggies. Brown meat.
  5. Once meat is brown add can of diced tomatoes ( juice and all) and already cooked quinoa.  Cook for 5 minutes or until most of the juice is absorbed.
  6.  Serve and enjoy!

IMG_20170306_183329_518

 

 

Leave a Reply

