Be present

Take a minute to think back….. How many times have you missed something because you weren’t present? Do you think this leaves you feeling disconnected in your life?

One promise I made to myself was to do personal development every day. Through this I have really taken some time to evaluate myself. Things have been bad for me lately. I have lost my motivation and drive, I kept wondering why this is. Part of it is that I haven’t really been present. Like really present in everything that I do. I’m really good at multi-tasking for my job and it carries through in my day-to-day living. I will find myself listening to stories people are telling me all the while looking at my phone and responding to messages. Playing with my son but watching TV also. Taking a walk and checking Facebook. How much life am I missing out on by doing this? Am I missing details and not cementing memories in my mind?

I decided to look into this further. Stanford University did a study concerning chronic media multitasking, working memory, and long-term memory. Reading the findings that were published on the National Center for Biotechnology Information website confirms what I thought. People who frequently multi-task while using media have a wider scope for their attention but it allows for information that is not related to their “main” focus to crowd in (Uncapher, M, & Wagner, 2016). This causes working memory to suffer which leads to low long term memory (Uncapher, M, & Wagner, 2016).

Take a minute to think back….. How many times have you missed something because you weren’t present? Do you think this leaves you feeling disconnected in your life?

For me personally I think it leaves me feeling disconnected. Which leads to this awful meh, blah, depressed feeling.

We need to make a change in this world and the only way we can do this is by making a change within ourselves.

I have started to release useless possessions in an attempt to simplify my life. The minute I started releasing things I felt something release inside me. I felt lighter, more free. I’m making plans to beautify my surroundings so that I have a tranquil safe place (my home). Now I will focus on being present in all that I do.

This will require practice. For so long I have lived in this media driven haze that it will not be easy to break these habits.

PRACTICE

Stop thinking about what I have to do next, stop thinking about what has happened, focus on all five senses, concentrate on what I am doing, and breathe deep.

BE PRESENT

‘Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet.’ ~Thich Nhat Hahn

l-541083

 

Uncapher, M., M, K. T., & Wagner, A. (2016, April 23). Result Filters. Retrieved October 09, 2016, from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26223469

 

Leave a Reply

