Let’s talk about Carbs

Until very recently I was under the impression that carbs were EVIL and I mean ALL carbs. I’m taking advanced anatomy and physiology and I have just now realized that it’s not true. Not all carbs are evil. In fact carbs are essential for one’s body to work properly. Carbohydrates give you the energy your body needs to get you through the day. Now not all carbs are good for you though. Simple carbs are bad and complex carbs are good (yeah I know I sounded like a cave woman there). Simple carbs are made of one or two sugar molecules which are quickly broken down by your cells providing a quick burst of energy but really can’t sustain you. Complex carbs are 3 or more sugar molecules that are in long complex chains. It takes longer for the body to break apart these chains thus providing a better source of energy for your body. Now I could go way more into detail about this but what I stated here is what made me realize I need to eat carbs.

I have tried to avoid carbs but now that I know how essential complex carbs are to my body I am going to try to make sure that I get a sufficient amount per day. Examples of complex carbs are whole grain bread and pastas, vegetables, and beans. Simple sugars are candies. I’m learning all sorts of new things on this journey and I feel like I am gaining a better understanding of my body. It feels really good to me.

Leave a Reply

